DATSIK’s ‘Cold Blooded’ EP Out Today!



Following the release of heavyweight new single “Vindicate” featuring Excision, DATSIK has released the first edition of the two-part COLD BLOODED EP on Firepower Records today, Tuesday, January 22. The new seven-track EP—streaming now on Billboard.com at http://www.billboard.com/new-releases/datsik-cold-blooded-premiere-and-track-by-1008106992.story#/new-releases/datsik-cold-blooded-premiere-and-track-by-1008106992.story–acts as the perfect soundtrack to DATSIK’s mammoth ‘Firepower Reloaded’ tour which moves across North America throughout the month.  Part two of the COLD BLOODED EP will be released later this spring.

Leading DATSIK’s first body of work since the release of his debut album Vitamin D, the title track doesn’t waste any time in dealing the first lethal blows. Led in by its shuffling percussion and dub skank, it dives head first into barrage of gnarled drums and rapid-fire bass. Up next, DATSIK’s brutal production collides with rapper Messinian’s raw lyrics on the industrially reinforced “Automatik,” a pummeling exercise in low-end mechanics. The heat continues with “Machete” as DATSIK this time teams up with MCs Snak The Ripper and Young Sin to deliver a powerful assault of growling bass and roaring synths balanced by the swirling pads and 8-bit arpeggios.

“Juicebox” introduces a more playful element to the EP with its hyperactive bounce, energetic melodies and scratch samples before “Too Late To Say No”’s expansive synths pave the way for an overdriven bass onslaught. Falling into line next is single “Vindicate” with its ferocious web of twisted beats and morphing, intertwined bass lines. The lurching juggernaut “Release Me” complete the package, destroying anything left in its path.

With a string of Beatport #1’s, sell-out tours, and a rapidly growing fan base, the Canadian producer/DJ and label boss has entered the New Year on an exceptionally high note, and with the release of COLD BLOODED he’s already making his claim to an even bigger 2013.

Alongside the release of the EP, the ‘Firepower Reloaded’ tour is now underway and DATSIK’s one-of-a-kind ‘Vortex’ DJ performance booth is ready to drop jaws. Its real-time 3D-mapping technology pushes custom visuals and mind-altering effects to a new level, placing DATSIK’s at the forefront of the evolution.  For dates and ticket information, log on to www.reloadedtour.com.

The track listing for DATSIK’s Cold Blooded Part 1 EP is:

1. Cold Blooded
2. Automatik (feat. Messinian)
3. Machete (feat. Snak The Ripper & Young Sin)
4. Juicebox
5. Too Late To Say No
6.Datsik & Excision – Vindicate
7. Release Me

DATSIK’s Cold Blooded EP is available now at:
Beatport: http://www.beatport.com/release/cold-blooded-ep/1023102
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/cold-blooded-ep/id592247963



For DATSIK, FIREPOWER stands out as an extension of his revered and applauded musical persona. “I come from the dark, hip hop-influenced side of dubstep, and I’m trying to create a haven for that style,” he explains. “There are all of these incredible young producers on the rise. I want to elevate them and promote them. If I’m playing a track in my set, I’m likely to sign it and release it. Those are my guidelines, and FIREPOWER’s dance floor ammunition is my contribution to the EDM world.”  DATSIK’s specialty is wrecking the dance floor. Barely out of high school, the Canadian artist and producer inked a deal with Excision’s Rottun Recordings. He released a series of successful singles and EPs and rose to prominence as a leader of the underground dubstep scene in North America. After collaborating with the legendary Korn on The Path of Totality, he toured the U.S. with the group. Then, 2012 saw him release his proper full-length debut, Vitamin D, via Dim Mak Records and featuring the epic single “Evilution” [Featuring Jonathan Davis of Korn & Infected Mushroom]. However, founding a label has always been part of his plan.  FIREPOWER began formally contributing to that landscape with the release of AFK & Hizzleguy’s 10-song EP, Full Clip. Unveiled in February 2012 on iTunes and Beatport, the collection solidified FIREPOWER as an explosive force to be reckoned with. Shortly after, the second signing Getter dropped the razor sharp Psycho EP. Other acts that make up the roster include Barron, Rekoil, Terravita, The Frim, DKS, Sub Antix and DATSIK himself. With tours planned under the label banner and more music on the horizon, they’re well on their way to domination.  Either duck and cover or storm the gates with them.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts