How to Order Healthy Sushi

With so many options–some doused in sauces and coated in rice–it is difficult to know which sushi options are the most healthy. Dr. Suneil Jain, NMD, naturopathic physician and the founder/owner of Rejuvena Health & Aesthetics, has offered up some “dos” and “don’ts” when it comes to ordering sushi–in the healthiest way.
Experts say that like all fish, sushi gives you a healthy dose of omega-3 fatty acids and lean protein
Do: Eat sashimi, slices of raw fish accessorized with veggies
Don’t: Order maki and nigiri. Both often wrapped in white rice is not so healthy because it gives you fast carbohydrates instead of a nutritious, filling meal
Like all foods, if it’s fried or smothered in sauce, it’s not healthy
Do: Order rolls with plenty of fish and sea vegetables. Have it wrapped in brown rice or request no wrap at all
Don’t: If it’s deep-fried like the famous Vegas roll or comes swimming in a mayo-based sauce, stay away
Sushi is raw, so it’s not for everyone, be careful of where it is sourced from
Do: Choose a well-run restaurant with a good reputation and be careful of the source of the fish
Don’t: If you have immune deficiency like the elderly or chronically ill and if you are pregnant, stay away from raw sushi. Also, everyone should be cautious of store-bought sushi. Its longer shelf life gives bacteria more of an opportunity to flourish and one study found that almost half of the 58 samples of grocery store sushi contained unsatisfactory levels of bacteria
Yes, you still need to worry about mercury
Do: Eat small-bodied fish that are lower on the food chain because they have less mercury and are more sustainable because they have a lower chance of being farmed. Things with two shells like scallops, clams and oysters have some of the highest omega-3 levels and are raised more sustainably
Don’t: Unfortunately, three of the most popular items – tuna, salmon and shrimp – are usually not fished or farmed sustainably. They may have higher levels of mercury and lower levels of nutrients
Traditional soy sauce contains gluten, an ingredient many people have sensitivity to
Do: Research ahead of time by calling the restaurant and asking if they have a gluten-free soy sauce option
Don’t: Assume that all other sauces are gluten-free. Many eel sauces also contain gluten

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts
Read More

Taste Tidbits

Foodie news roundup for the week of Jan. 22: 9th Annual Grand Wine Festival, Shake Shack's Griddled Chick’n Club, National Blueberry Pancake Day at Miracle Mile Deli, Crudo's Late Night Banh Mi Menu, new menu at Brat Haus