Mexican Region That Includes Tulum, Cancún Institutes Tourist Tax

Caribbean beach at the cliff in Tulum at sunset, Mexico

The Mexican state of Quintana Roo, home to such popular destinations as Tulum, Cancún and Playa del Carmen, will soon levy a tourist tax on all visitors.

Starting April 1, each traveler over the age of 15 will be required to pay a $10 tourist tax, according to local media El Economista. The tax can be paid at any point before or during the trip, or upon departure.

A special 10% discount will be granted to travelers arriving from Belize who often cross the border.

The new tourist tax is expected to raise 600 million pesos (about $29M) in 2021, where the funds will help generate jobs within local hospitality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts