Most Eligible Phoenicians 2021: Nelson Brooks of Scottsdale Cabana Boys

Age:

30

Social Media Handles:

@nel_bro_

Website:

scottsdalecabanaboys.com

City of Residence:

Scottsdale

Please describe your occupation:

I’m a Director of Business Development at a communications software company. I also own a bartending company, Scottsdale Cabana Boys.

Why did you go into that industry?

I’ve spent my whole career in sales because I like solving problems, working with new people, and driving towards a goal. The software industry is quickly evolving, so it makes you stay on your toes and experience something new every day. 

The Cabana Boys business is just a side hustle, but I started it because I saw an opportunity to capitalize on the bachelorette and Airbnb market here in Scottsdale.

What made you want to be a part of Arizona Foothills Magazine’s Most Eligible Phoenicians 2021?

Dating in the world of COVID is tough and dating apps can be more of a nuisance than a value-add. I know that I have a lot to offer and thought this might be a good way to get my name out there to meet Mrs. Right. And honestly, I didn’t know what I was signing up for in the first place ☺

Are you an Arizona native? If not, when and why did you move to Arizona?

I’m from Portland, Oregon originally and moved here right after college. Then I moved away to Austin, TX for 4 years, so this is actually my second stint in AZ. I moved back in March 2019 for a new job. I just couldn’t stay away!

What is your favorite aspect of Arizona?

Arizona has so much to offer and that richness is my favorite aspect of it. From the hundreds of hiking trails, diverse climates, amazing nightlife and restaurants, professional sports teams, vibrant neighborhoods, proximity to LA, Vegas, Mexico, and the rest of the west coast, and reasonable cost of living, Arizona is one of the best places to live in the US for every phase of life. I wish the rest of the country hadn’t have taken notice.

Have you ever been married in the past? Would you want to get married/remarried?

Never been married, and I’d absolutely love to find a partner in crime, get married, and spend the rest of my life with her.

Do you have any children? Would you like to have children?

No children yet, but would like some someday, as I think I’d be a great dad.

What’s your astrological sign?

Taurus

Would you describe yourself as more of an extrovert or introvert? Or a little bit of both?

I’m definitely an extrovert, but not in a loud and obnoxious sort of way. I feed off social energy and thrive on meeting people and being out and about. That said, I do have a bit of an introverted side in that I like to accomplish things by myself and need solo time occasionally. 

You have the weekend off, and no work needs to be done. What are you doing?

If no work needs to be done and we’re still in COVID, you can find me at The Village playing tennis, doing something outdoors and enjoying the AZ weather, hanging with friends at a restaurant, at the pool, or watching sports, at the gym, catching up on reading, and making a pitstop at my favorite store, Costco.

If we’re talking about a post-COVID weekend, you can find me on an airplane or at a concert/music festival.

Where was your favorite place you have ever visited? 

Where do you want to go next? I’ve been lucky to travel to some amazing locations, but I’d say sailing through the islands of Croatia takes the cake. Tokyo is at the top of my list currently, but I’ll settle for sushi until COVID is behind us.

Favorite movie? Why?

This is a weird one, but I love the movie The NeverEnding Story. It’s a childhood classic with a lot of plot twists and solid visual effects (for its time). I even named one of my old cars after the big white flying dog character, Falcor. 

What kind of music is your favorite? Do you have a favorite artist?

I love music, especially live, and I have an unusual mix of favorites. EDM is #1, followed closely by country. You can hear any of the top DJs bumpin’ at my place – Rufus Du Sol, Calvin Harris, Above & Beyond, Zedd. Some of my favorite country artists are Blake Shelton, Eric Church, and Jason Aldean.

Favorite food and favorite restaurant? Why?

Sushi is probably my favorite food overall, but I do love sweet potato fries and ice cream too. I really like all of the Fox Concepts Restaurants, Diego Pops, D’Lite, Buck & Rider, and CBCB because the food is consistent and the atmosphere is usually fun. I cook a lot of plant-based meals for myself too. 

Where is your favorite place to grab a cocktail?

So many options, but Citizen Public House, Kazimierz, and Scapegoat are my three favorites.

If you were to take another MEP selectee on a date, where would you take them and why?

There are a lot of variables here, but if it’s a nighttime date, I’d say we grab a drink at Beverly on Main and then do the art walk in Old Town on Thursdays. If it’s a daytime date, we’re going on a bike ride down the canal to grab beers at OHSO.

Tell us something that many people may not know about you:

I live my life with a ! (exclamation point). Life is too short to sit around do nothing, so I work hard to achieve my goals, maximize my time, and make the most of every day. I even have an exclamation point tattoo on my back to prove it. 

Check out our interview with Nelson Brooks:



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.