Trendsetter to Know: Michelle Syekriyeru

Name: Michelle Syekriyeru

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007270276541

Instagram: @Michelle_syek

Age: 25

Title:  Manager

Married/Single:  

Kids:  My Australian cattle dog named Copper

City you live in: North Glendale

A typical day in my life includes…  waking up and getting coffee, then taking my dog out and usually going to work!

I was born… in Auburn, WA.

My favorite thing about Arizona… is the diversity of people and the activities available!  It is always sunny and winter you have flagstaff for the snow.

I’m listening to…  everything!  I try to keep my music range very wide.  I listen to everything from jazz to hip-hop.  Christian to country.  I believe that being open to all music creates more room for understanding and growth as a person.  Open-mindedness helps you to learn and grow, strengthening the belief in oneself and allowing you to find what you truly want.  Without being open to other possibilities, how do you know what you want in life?

My family… is very complicated but very dear to me.  I am the closest to my grandmother who eventually raised me.  I could not be the person I am today without her risking her free time to raise another child at her age.  

If I could have dinner with anyone, it would be…  a very hard choice.  I would love to speak with Mother Theresa, someone high up in the Smithsonian and have a very in depth tour, or one last dinner with a dear friend who passed away named Brad.  He really helped change my life when I moved to Arizona.  

One thing I cannot live without… Coffee!  I am definitely coffee dependent and I love all the variety options for coffee.  

When I was younger, I wanted to be… a nurse!  I love caring for people and making sure they are happy/healthy.  I still do but part of me will always stay in the restaurant industry.  I have a few certifications for different parts of the hospital such as CAN, Phlebotomy, and a few others.

I am inspired by… strong women that lift each other up instead of tearing others down.

The one person who motivates me is… my grandmother.  She is always there for me and I can tell her literally anything.  She is a wealth of knowledge.  

If I could change anything in the world, it would be… access to better public education, the poor treatment of animals, and limited access to food/electricity.  

The perfect day would be… waking up to a coffee, taking a yoga class, getting a pedicure, and spending the afternoon with my dog at the lake or park!

My first job was… in a retail store back home in Washington state.  It was a good experience to graduate high school working for the same place since I was 16 and creating a great first bond with my managers.  They taught me a lot and were very critical.  In the long run that made me a better employee. 

My favorite escape… is always outdoors.  I try to stay outside as much as possible.  Hiking was my first escape, then it began to add up.  Now I snowboard, wakeboard, skate, ride horses, dirt bike, fish, and more.  

My life… has always been hectic and different.  I believe the adversities I faced growing up is a big part of who I am today.  

I’m currently working on… bettering myself and creating the best life I can.  

Always… try your hardest.  

Never… cheat or lie.  

Favorite Quote… Jeremiah 29:11

Biggest Dream… is to be happy and live a full life as much as possible.  

My Pet Peeve(s)… people that chew with their mouth open.  



One Comment

  • Richard Wright says:

    Michelle Syekriyeru
    After reading your bio… You are … a perfect anomaly that proves there is simple “goodness” found on this planet when we don’t look for it… thank you for sharing your story, bringing back good memories, and for putting a smile on my face.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.