A blog for Phoenix area women

Shocking Everyday Foods That Actually Aren’t Vegetarian

Take another look – these everyday foods may seem vegetarian-friendly, but they actually contain ingredients like pork enzymes or fish bladder.

Refried Beans
Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.29.12 PM

Photo: Flickr user gloryfoods
Many canned refried beans marketed as “traditional” or “original” are often made with hydrogenated lard – scientific code for pig fat. Read the ingredients and look out for refried bean cans labeled “vegetarian.”

Tropicana Heart Healthy Orange Juice
tropicana
Beware, vegetarians, of Tropicana’s “Heart Healthy with Omega-3” orange juice. Those omega 3s are actually comprised of tilapia, sardine and anchovy.

Marshmallows
Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.17.34 PM

Photo: Flickr user aidanmorgan

Like most gooey sweet products (think gummy worms and Skittles), marshmallows contain gelatin, which is a protein made from the skin and bones of animals like pigs and cows.

Chips
Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.22.12 PM

Photo: Flickr user theimpulsivebuy

Say goodbye to your baked Ruffles. FritoLay uses enzymes from pork in its products, saying on its website that they “are used to develop the cheese in some of our cheese seasonings.” Here is a list of vegetarian-friendly products FritoLay lists on its website.

Bagels
lender

Photo: Flickr user clender

Some bagels are made with L-cysteine, an amino acid that comes from either human hair or poultry feathers. Lender’s is one of the bagel companies that use the ingredient.

Beer
Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.37.31 PM

 

Photo by Flickr user keviny

Guinness beer uses isinglass, aka fish bladder, as a fining agent to remove any unwanted leftovers from the brewing process. Even though Guinness does not list the ingredient on labels, it doesn’t necessarily mean that traces of the holding ingredient won’t make it into your glass.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.